7summits forum!

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: how do you afford to Climb?  (Read 7927 times)

Damon

• Armchair...
  • Altitude: 0
how do you afford to Climb?
« on: Mar 19 2003, 04:24 »

I am a recently unemployed Engineer, Living in New Jersey.  I used to live in California, and was able to make climbing trips to Cascades, Colorodo Rockies, or Utah for weekend trips, or depending upon available time.  I have been fortunate enough to see most of the US excluding Alaska, and to have done dozens of Mountains, since the time I was about 10 yrs Old.  I would love to be able to do some larger mountains, but the cost of these trips seems to be highly prohibative.  I would love to know of a way to afford some of these expeditions.

7summits

• 7 down, 0 to go!
  • Administrator
  • 7Summiteer!
  • Altitude: 3
  • Greetings from tha lowlands
    • The 7 summits pages
Re:how do you afford to Climb?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 20 2003, 03:01 »

Hi Damon,
well first of all: check the prices! You can spend loads of $$$ on exactly the same trip which you can get elsewhere (=here ;-) for less...
Why pay triple the amount for the same trip?
Really, a week on Kilimanjaro is probably cheaper than a week in NY... just as long as you do not book it with the 'leading US companies' who use our people on the spot...

But if you want to go to Vinson or Everest there are only 2 options:

- you already got plenty of money
- you know here to get plenty of money.

Some people have taken a second mortgage on their homes to pay for Everest. Many E climbers are simply rich (doctors, lawyers, business men) and in the nineties many climbers got sponsored. But companies take it easy on the sponsoring nowadays, So your story better be good: what do they get in return, why is your climb special ('first 6ft3" white male' won't get you much money...)