7summits forum!

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mountaineering Schools  (Read 4191 times)

Matt

• Armchair...
  • Altitude: 0
  • I am too lazy too change this text!
Mountaineering Schools
« on: Apr 14 2004, 09:01 »

Does anyone recommend any 1-2 week-long mountaineering courses in the U.S.? I have little climbing experience except for rappelling on static (caving) rope so I'm looking for something geared towards beginners. At the same time, I don't need something too watered down - I'd like to develop the skills to start summiting - Thanks in advance for any feedback!
-Matt

7summits

• 7 down, 0 to go!
  • Administrator
  • 7Summiteer!
  • Altitude: 3
  • Greetings from tha lowlands
    • The 7 summits pages
Re: Mountaineering Schools
« Reply #1 on: Apr 14 2004, 11:52 »

Hi Matt,
welcome at the forum. It is very dependent on your objectives, if you know those, you can start gaining the knowledge and the skills to achieve them.

In general you have 2 choices: to follow a course or to hire a private guide.
In the NW of the USA NOLS has many courses including mountaineering courses and rock training, see this page for their mountaineering courses.

Anyone has had experiences with them or others? Please share it here!

By the way, the ads on top of pages like these are served based on the content, so links to some interesting climbing guides may be found on top of this page... 
8)

A private guide is costly, but the quickest way to learn many needed skills. You can hire a guide together with a friend and just go for it and you will learn a lot.