7summits forum!

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Kilimanjaro The Roof of Africa"  (Read 4600 times)

Dream BIG

• Armchair...
  • Altitude: 0
  • 0 down 7 to go
"Kilimanjaro The Roof of Africa"
« on: Feb 22 2005, 10:36 »

Hey All,
I am new to climbing and new to this message board (I have been reading for about a month and this is my first post).  I am wondering if any of you have had the chance to see the IMAX film "Kilimanjaro The Roof of Africa?"  I went and saw it a week or so ago and I am wondering if any of you got the same vibe I did from it.  Did it seem like they were making the climbing of Kili out to be a little too easy?  When I saw the characters that were climbing it seemed as though the young kids and older woman had a pretty easy time up the mountain.  Did they have a prolonged acclimitization period, or is it that (I hate to use this word) "easy" for them to get to the top?  I am very interested in getting into climbing and the 7 summits is on my list of things to do if I can get the funding and training. 
Any comments?
Thanks
"Getting to the summit is optional, getting down is mandatory." -Ed Veisturs

Hatman

• Archaeologist
  • Armchair...
  • One down six to go?
Re: "Kilimanjaro The Roof of Africa"
« Reply #1 on: Feb 22 2005, 23:41 »